Competitive Eating at its Best: Grilled Cheese Bowl Set for February 1

This is what competitive eating is all about! The highly anticipated World Grilled Cheese Eating Championship will be held on February 1, 2006 in New York, NY.

The eating contest will be open only to winners of the World Grilled Cheese Eating Championship qualifying circuit. The current world grilled cheese eating record is held by JAWS Chestnut, who devoured 32.5 of the sandwiches in 10 minutes on Oct. 22, 2005 at the Arizona State Fair.

Other eligible competitive eaters for the championship include: Sonya Thomas, Eater X, Badlands Booker, Cookie Jarvis, Pat Bertoletti, Rich LeFevre, Jed Donahue, Hall Hunt, Humble Bob Shoudt, Ron Koch, Crazy Legs Conti, Leland Collins and Walter Hamilton.

There will be $20,000 in prize money on the line, broken down as follows:

1st Place: $8,000
2nd Place: $4,000
3rd Place: $2,350
4th Place: $1,500
5th Place: $1,000
6th Place: $900
7th Place: $800
8th Place: $700
9th Place: $500
10th Place: $250

The event will be held four days before the Super Bowl, offering sports fans two events of tremendous magnitude within mere days of each other.