The Denver Outlaws World Burrito Eating Championship Presented By Illegal Pete’s

Date: 05/27/2017
Location: Denver, CO
Discipline: Burritos
Total Prizes: $5,000 total cash purse


Great news, world: The Denver Outlaws World Burrito Eating Championship Presented By Illegal Pete’s is back for 2017. Major League Eaters from near and far are warmly encouraged to sign up for the opportunity to compete in this delicious, demanding event. The Illegal Pete's burrito is the tastiest in all the land; the only question that lingers is how many can you eat in 10 minutes of sanctioned competition?

If you are Joey Chestnut, you would know the answer to that question and you would know that the answer is a staggering 14.5 Illegal Pete's burritos in 10 minutes. Chestnut set this incredible benchmark at the 2016 Championship; he is expected to defend his title again in 2017.

Do you dare challenge the great Chestnut in the event he has straight up owned since its inception in 2015? Do you like eating delicious Illegal Pete's burritos? (Yes. Yes you do. That's a stupid question.) Do you wish to compete in the cauldron of excellence that is Denver's own Sports Authority Field at Mile High? Then sign up today! This is The Denver Outlaws World Burrito Eating Championship Presented By Illegal Pete’s! At the table or in the crowd—don't you ever miss it!

1st - $2,500
2nd - $1,200
3rd - $650
4th - $350
5th - $200

This contest* will take place at 8.30pm Mountain time on Saturday, May 27, 2017, at the home of the Denver Outlaws, Sports Authority Field at Mile High. The stadium is located at 1701 Bryant St. Denver, CO 80204!

Part of Major League Lacrosse’s 2006 western expansion, the two-time MLL Champion Outlaws have made the playoffs in ten of their eleven seasons, most recently winning the MLL Championship in 2016 over the Ohio Machine. The organization is managed by Edge Sports & Entertainment—a wholly-owned subsidiary of the Denver Broncos Football Club. For more information, contact the Outlaws at 303-OUTLAWS (688-5297) or visit

Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse League, was founded by Jake Steinfeld and is headquartered in Boston. Major League Lacrosse commenced play in June 2001 and just completed its fourteenth season. MLL has continued to lead the sport of lacrosse into the mainstream of competitive team sports. The league is made up of nine teams: The Atlanta Blaze, Boston Cannons, Charlotte Hounds, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Denver Outlaws, Florida Launch, New York Lizards, Ohio Machine and Rochester Rattlers. More information about the league can be found at, Facebook or Twitter

CLICK HERE for more information on the Denver Outlaws!

Follow the Denver Outlaws on Twitter @DenverOutlaws

Follow the Denver Outlaws on Instagram @DenverOutlaws

Become a fan of the Denver Outlaws Facebook page!

Become a fan of the MLE Facebook Page

For instant results to all Major League Eating Contests, follow @eatingcontest

*All applicants must be 18 years of age or older and fully acknowledge and understand the inherent dangers and risks associated with participating in an eating contest. The applicant further acknowledges and understands that the MLE/IFOCE coordinates with event sponsor(s) to select and approve eligible participants, and that the MLE/IFOCE shall decide, at its sole discretion, whether an applicant is eligible to participate in any eating event, and/or related activities. The MLE/IFOCE may revoke an applicant's eligibility to participate in the eating contest, or related activities, at any time, for any reason, at its sole discretion. The MLE/IFOCE and the event sponsors reserve the right, at any time, to change any and all details concerning the event, including, e.g., time, duration, location and prize structure.